Which Country Won Most 50 Over Cricket World Cup!

There are 12 World Cup tournaments held to date in different countries, and the extra-talented Australian team becomes the most successful team as it won not only 1,2, or 3 but a fabulous five World Cups.

Yes, you heard it right, Kangaroo players are the only ones who won 5 World Cups until now, and still giving tough competition to other teams. It becomes the first team who won three consecutive World Cup tournaments, which isn’t at all a joke.

Don’t waste a second and let’s dig deeper!

Journey Of Five Victories Of Aussies Players!

Australia marked his first victory in the World Cup in the year 1987 while playing against England and won the match by 7 runs at Eden Gardens, Kolkata. And as you all must have heard the famous idiom, Taste the success once, the tongue wants more, so the hardworking Australia team take this idiom seriously and started following it!

After the match of 1987, the next two matches were won by Pakistan and Sri Lanka in 1992 and 1996. But, after the sixth World Cup, the whole battle turns upside down as the Aussies players get back into the race.

The five-times World Cup-winning team won the match continuously in the years 1999, 2003, and 2007.

In 1999, a match has been played between Australia and Pakistan, in which Pakistan gave the target of 133 runs to win the match. And fortunately, England accomplished the target and won the match by 8 wickets at Lord’s Cricket Ground in London.

In 2003, they are back with more energy to defeat team India. Generally, the loser team lost the match with some wickets or 40-50 runs, but can you imagine in this match, Australia won the match by 125 runs and scored 359 runs at Wanderers, Johannesburg.

The last match which Aussies won in a row was played in 2007 at Kensington Oval stadium located in the capital city Bridgetown. Australia won that match by 53 runs and scored 281 runs.

A recent match won by the Australian players was in 2019, in which they played against New Zealand. Both teams scored 241 runs and the match tied after regular play and super over, but, later on, team Australia was declared as a winner on the basis of boundary count.

What About The Rest Seven World Cups?

From the rest seven matches, India and West Indies won the World Cup twice. India won the match in 1983 and 2011 whereas West Indies won the initial two World Cups of 1975 and 1979.

The last ICC Men’s World Cup was held in England and Wales in 2019 and was won by the hosting country England. It’s the first World Cup victory of the English players!

Hence, share your excitement about the forthcoming World Cup, comment on your favorite team which you want to see in the finals, and stay in touch!!

Also Read: Ganguly Invited Me To Ipl Finals,’ Says Pakistan Cricket Board Chief Ramiz Raja, Explains Reason For Not Attending

Leave a Comment